CASE.EDU:    HOME | DIRECTORIES | SEARCH

Consortium for Emerging Technologies, Military Operations, and National Security (CETMONS) Joint Research Project Participants

Brad Allenby, Ph.D.

Lincoln Professor of Engineering and Ethics
Lincoln Center of Applied Ethics
Arizona State University
480-727-8594; braden.allenby@asu.edu

Ronald Arkin, Ph.D.

Regents' Professor & Director of the Mobile Robot Laboratory
Associate Dean for Research
College of Computing
Georgia Institute of Technology
404-894-8209; arkin@gatech.edu

Ed Barrett, Ph.D.

Director of Strategy and Resarch
Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership
U.S. Naval Academy (Annapolis)
410-293-6085; ebarrett@usna.edu

Jessica Berg, J.D., MPH

Professor of Law; Bioethics; Public Health
Associate Director of the Law-Medicine Center
School of Law; LC7148
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-6363; jessica.berg@case.edu

Paul Schiff Berman, J.D.

Dean and Foundation Professor of Law
Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
Arizona State University
480-965-6188; Paul.S.Berman@asu.edu

Brad Bishop, Ph.D.

Professor of Engineering
Department of Weapons and Systems
U.S. Naval Academy (Annapolis)
410-293-6117; bishop@usna.edu

Jason Borenstein, Ph.D.

Director, Graduate Research Ethics Programs
Co-Director, Center for Ethics and Technology
Georgia Institute of Technology
404-385-2801; jason.borenstein@philosophy.gatech.edu

Christopher Buneo, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering
Arizona State University
480-727-0841; cbuneo@asu.edu

Stephen Coleman, Ph.D.

Professor, Australian National Defence University
Fellow, Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership
+61 2-6268-8812; s.coleman@adfa.edu.au

Elizabeth Corley, Ph.D.

Lincoln Professor of Public Policy, Ethics, & Emerging Technologies
Lincoln Center of Applied Ethics
Arizona State University
602-496-0462; Elizabeth.Corley@asu.edu

Samara Firebaugh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
U.S. Naval Academy (Annapolis)
410-293-6175; firebaug@usna.edu

Peter French, Ph.D.

Center Director, Lincoln Chair in Ethics
Lincoln Center of Applied Ethics
Arizona State University
480-727-7461; pfrench@asu.edu

Shannon French, Ph.D.

Inamori Professor of Ethics
Director, Inamori International Center for Ethics and Excellence
Crawford Hall, A15C, LC7051
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-4454; shannon.french@case.edu; sef37@case.edu
Cc: Christian Frano; 216-368-2579; christian.frano@case.edu

Joel Garreau

Journalist, The Washington Post
540-347-1414; joel@garreau.com; www.garreau.com

Jason Gatliff, Ph.D.

Integrated Ethics Program Officer, Louis Stokes Cleveland VA Medical Center
Director of Ethics Consultation, Center for Biomedical Ethics
MetroHealth Medical Center
216-791-3800 x3960; 216-778-8985; jason.gatliff@case.edu

David Guston, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Nanotechnology in Society
Co-Director, Consortium for Science, Policy and Outcomes
Professor, Department of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Arizona State University
480-727-8829; David.Guston@asu.edu

CAPT Karl Hasslinger, US Navy (Ret.)

Director of Washington Operations
General Dynamics Electric Boat
202-454-2960; khasslin@gdeb.com

Steve Helms Tillery, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Harrington Department of Bioengineering
Arizona State University
480-965-0753; Stephen.HelmsTillery@asu.edu

Insoo Hyun, Ph.D.

Co-Director of the Bioethics PhD Program
Associate Professor of Bioethics
School of Medicine, TA209, LC4976
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-8658; insoo.hyun@case.edu; ixh14@case.edu

Anthony Jack, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Cognitive Science
Crawford Hall, 609, LC7063
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-6996; Anthony.jack@case.edu

Eric Juengst, Ph.D.

Director, Center for Genetic Research Ethics and Law
Professor of Bioethics
School of Medicine, TA 211, LC4976
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-6196; eric.juengst@case.edu; etj2@case.edu
Cc: Dionna Nalls; 216-368-8719; dionna.nalls@case.edu

Robert Kirkman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, School of Public Policy
Director, Center for Ethics and Technology
Georgia Institute of Technology
404-894-6697; robert.kirkman@pubpolicy.gatech.edu

Orde Kittrie, J.D.

Professor, College of Law
Arizona State University
480-727-8572; Orde.Kittrie@asu.edu

Margaret Kosal, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Sam Nunn School of International Affairs
Program Co-Director, Emerging Technology and Security
Director, Biological and Chemical Nonproliferation and Counterterrorism
Georgia Institute of Technology
404-894-9664; Margaret.kosal@inta.gatech.edu

Patrick Lin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Philosophy Department
California Polytechnic State University
Fellow, Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership
805-756-7295; palin@calpoly.edu

George R. Lucas, Jr., Ph.D.

Professor of Philosophy
Director of Navy and National Programs
Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership
U.S. Naval Academy (Annapolis)
410-293-6142; grlucas@usna.edu

Gary Marchant, Ph.D.

Lincoln Professor of Ethics, Law, and Emerging Technologies
Lincoln Center of Applied Ethics
Arizona State University
480-965-3246; gary.marchant@asu.edu

Max Mehlman, J.D.

Professor of Bioethics<
Arthur E. Petersilge Professor of Law
Director, The Law-Medicine Center
Case Western Reserve University School of Law,
Professor of Bioethics,
Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
216-368-3983; maxwell.mehlman@case.edu

Bob Miller, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Neurosciences
School of Medicine, E653, LC4975
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-6269; robert.miller@case.edu; rhm3@case.edu

Clark Miller, Ph.D.

Associate Director, Consortium for Science, Policy and Outcomes
Arizona State University
480-965-1778; clark.miller@asu.edu

BrigGen Richard O'Meara, US Army (Ret.)

Stockdale Resident Fellow
Stockdale Center for Ethical Leadership
U.S. Naval Academy (Annapolis)
omearar@msn.com

Hunter Peckham, Ph.D.

Professor and Interim Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Wickenden Building, 309, LC7207
Case Western Reserve University
216-778-3480; p.peckham@case.edu; pxp2@case.edu

Jenelle Piepmeier, Ph.D.

Professor of Engineering
Department of Weapons and Systems
U.S. Naval Academy (Annapolis)
410-293-6130; piepmeie@usna.edu

George Poste, Ph.D.

Chief Scientist, Complex Adaptive Systems Initiative
Arizona State University
480-727-8662; George.Poste@asu.edu

Stephen Pratt, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, School of Life Sciences
Arizona State University
480-727-9425; Stephen.Pratt@asu.edu

Jason Scott Robert, Ph.D.

Lincoln Professor of Ethics, Biotechnology, and Medicine
Lincoln Center of Applied Ethics
Arizona State University
480-727-8857; jason.robert@asu.edu

Veronica Santos, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Arizona State University
480-965-3207; veronica.santos@asu.edu

Daniel Sarewitz, Ph.D.

Professor and Co-director, Consortium for Science, Policy, and Outcomes
Arizona State University
480-727-8787; Daniel.Sarewitz@asu.edu

Michael Scharf, J.D.

Professor of Law
Director of the Frederick K. Cox International Law Center
Gund Hall, 209, LC 7148
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-3299; michael.scharf@case.edu; mps17@case.edu
Cc: Dawn Richards; 216-368-5135; dar29@case.edu

Marvin Simkin, MAIS

Manager, Information Security
Arizona State University
Marvin.Simkin@asu.edu

Brian Smith, Ph.D.

Professor, School of Life Sciences
Arizona State University
brianHsmith@asu.edu

Robert Strassfeld, J.D.

Professor of Law
Associate Director, Frederick K. Cox International
Law Center
Director, Institute for Global Security Law and Policy
Gund Hall, LC7148
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-5096; robert.strassfeld@case.edu
Cc: Kim Peterson; 216-368-2080; krp6@case.edu

Rick Van Schoik

Director, North American Center for Transborder Studies Arizona Director, Southwest Consortium for Environmental Research and Policy
Arizona State University
480-965-1846; D.Rick.Vanschoik@asu.edu

Sara Waller, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of History and Philosophy
Montana State University
406-994-4395; sara.waller@montana.edu

Gary Wnek, Ph.D.

Joseph F. Toot, Jr., Professor of Engineering
Chair, Department of Macromolecular Science & Engineering
Faculty Director, The Institute for Management & Engineering
Case School of Engineering-Macromolecular Science & Engineering
Kent Hale Smith Bldg, 314, LC 7202; or A W Smith, 124B
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-2728; gary.wnek@case.edu; gew5@case.edu
Cc: Tamara Fulton; 216-368-4172; tamara.fulton@case.edu

Stuart Youngner, M.D.

Susan E. Watson Professor of Bioethics
Professor of Psychiatry
Chair, Department of Bioethics
School of Medicine, LC 4976
Case Western Reserve University
216-368-6196; stuart.youngner@case.edu; sxy2@case.edu
Cc: Jan Liber; 216-368-0635; jxc44@case.edu