Other Years: | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013

2012 Women of Achievement Award Winners

The Annual Women of Achievement & Spotlight Awards Luncheon


This annual event celebrates the tenure and promotion and recognitions achieved by women faculty members at Case Western Reserve; and honors one woman from each school at Case Western Reserve for their excellence in research and scholarship. (Recipients chosen by their schools.)

Awards presented October 12, 2012
2012 Mather Prize honorees were:

Claudia Coulton

Alexis R. Abramson
Associate Professor Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Case School of Engineering

Dr. Abramson is leading the Emerging Technologies team within the Building Technologies Program at the Department of Energy, which has a focus on accelerating applied R&D with high energy savings impact in the areas of HVAC, windows, thermal insulation, advanced roofing solutions, water heating, appliances, lighting and building energy modeling and tools.

Faye A. Gary

Jill S. Barnholtz-Sloan
Associate Professor General Medical Sciences (Oncology)
& Case Comprehensive Cancer Center School of Medicine

Dr. Barnholtz-Sloan's research focuses on genetic/molecular epidemiology of complex diseases, with a particular focus on cancer. She is trained in biostatistics, population genetics, and human genetics and has provided expertise and leadership in hypothesis development, study design and statistical analysis. She is Principal Investigator (PI) of the Ohio Brain Tumor Study and Consortium PI for two additional studies.

Julia S. Grant

Joyce J. Fitzpatrick
Elizabeth Brooks Ford Professor of Nursing
Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing

Dr. Fitzpatrick is widely published in nursing and health care literature with over 300 publications, including more than 65 books that she has written/ edited. Dr. Fitzpatrick founded and led the Bolton School's World Health Organization Collaborating Center for Nursing. She has provided consultation on nursing education and research throughout the world.

Jessie Hill

Lisa A. Lang
Associate Professor Department of Comprehensive Care
School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Lang, with her students, has received various research awards including the Arthur H. Wuehrmann prize from the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology. She received the Dean's Distinguished Faculty Award and was recognized by the Academic Center for Excellence in Teaching through election into to the University of Texas Health Science Center Academy of Master Teachers.

T. Roma Jasivevicius

Marie Lathers
Elizabeth M. and William C. Treuhaft Professor of French and Humanities College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Lathers' research includes 19thcentury French literature and art, women's studies, film studies, and space studies. She has authored three books: The Aesthetics of Artifice: Villiers' "L'Eve Future, " Bodies of Art: French Literary Realism and the Artist's Model, and Space Oddities: Women and Outer Space in Popular Film and Culture, 1960-2000.

Kathryn Lavelle

Anna Maria Santiago
Leona Bevis and Marguerite Haynam Professor in Community Development Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences

Dr. Santiago's current research focuses on how place matters in the lives of vulnerable families and children and how federal, state and local housing policies and programs serve as vehicles for community and social development. She has published numerous articles in peer reviewed journals andbook chapters, and co-authored the book, Why NOT in My Backyard.

Noa Noy

Yi-Jing Wu
Assistant Professor of Accountancy,
Weatherhead School of Management

Dr. Wu's research focuses mainly on auditors' judgment and decision-making. Her research aims to gain additional knowledge regarding common threats to good professional judgments and to understand how various environmental and task factors influence these decisions. Research in this area informs the profession regarding common judgment and decision biases and provides solutions to help elevate auditors' professional judgments.

Xin Yu

Ruqaiijah Yearby
Professor of Law
School of Law; Associate Director of the Law-Medicine Center

Professor Yearby has published ten law review articles, three book chapters, one editorial, and submitted written legislative testimony. Her research uses empirical data to assess whether health law and policy adequately address the problems they aim to solve. Her recent article is entitled Breaking The Cycle Of 'Unequal Treatment': Using Health Care Reform To Address Racial Disparities In Health Care, 44 U. Conn. L. Rev. _ (2012).

Notable Women of the Year

Edith Lerner
Professor Emerita
Department of Nutrition School of Medicine

Prior to her recent retirement, Dr. Lerner was a CWRU Nutrition faculty member for 41 years, serving as both Chair and Vice- Chair in the later years. She is the recipient of the John Diekhoff Award for Distinguished Graduate Teaching and Mortar Board National Honor Society's Top Professor Award. In 2006, Dr. Lerner received the Outstanding Dietetics Educator Award from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.

Sarah Taylor
CWRU Faculty Newcomers Committee

For the past twenty years Sarah Taylor has worked tirelessly as the chair of the CWRU Faculty Newcomers Committee, planning and organizing over one hundred dinners, picnics, wine tastings, and coffee mornings to welcome new faculty and their families to the University. The newcomers' events continue throughout the year and include Cleveland guests who share common interests with particular new faculty members.

2012 Women of Achievement Honor Roll

Endowed Professorships


Mary E. Kerr, May L. Wykle Professorship


LaShanda Korley, Climo Assistant Professorship

Kiju Lee, Nord Assistant Professor

Ica Manas-Zloczower, Thomas W. and Nancy P. Seitz Professorship of Advanced Materials and Energy


Sharona Hoffman Edgar A. Hahn Professorship in Jurisprudence


Emerita Status


Judith Oster Professor Emerita, English

Louise Elaine Wenner McKinney Professor Emerita


Nahida H. Gordon Professor Emerita


Beverly Barrett Dahms Professor Emerita, Pathology

Mary L. Kumar Professor Emerita, Pediatrics

Edith Lerner Associate Professor Emerita, Nutrition


Tenure and Promotion


Radhika Atit Associate Professor with tenure, Biology

Kathryn Lavelle Professor, Political Science

Irene Lee Professor, Chemistry
Fey Parrill Associate Professor with tenure, Cognitive Science


Jennifer Cupar Professor

Maureen Kenny Professor

Carolyn Seymour Professor


Mary A. Dolansky Associate Professor

Amy Zhang Associate Professor with tenure


Mina K. Chung Professor, Medicine

Nancy Foldvary-Schaefer Professor, Medicine

Leslie J. Heinberg Professor, Medicine

Kresimira M. Milas Professor, Surgery

Ellen S. Rome Professor, Pediatrics


arah Augustine Associate Professor, Medicine

Elaine Borawski Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Colleen Croniger Associate Professor, Nutrition

Christina Delos-Reyes Associate Professor, Psychiatry

Ashley L. Faulx, Associate Professor, Medicine

Smitha Krishnamurthi Associate Professor, Medicine

Mildred Lam Professor, Medicine

Karen Lidsky Associate professor, Pediatrics

Marina Magrey Associate professor, Medicine

Anne L. Matthews Professor, Genetics

Susan T. Nedorost Professor, Dermatology

Holly B. Perzy Associate Professor, Medicine

Catherine Stein Associate Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Heather A. Vallier Professor, Orthopaedics

Brook Watts Associate Professor, Medicine