CWRU Links
Honorary Degrees

Honorary Degree Nomination Process

Case Western Reserve University invites nominations for honorary degrees by which the university can recognize persons who exemplify in their work the highest ideals and standards of "excellence in any valued aspect of human endeavor, including the realm of scholarship, public service, and the performing arts." (Faculty Handbook, 3, III.X)  Current members of the faculty, the staff, or the Board of Trustees are not eligible for an honorary degree.     

The honorary degree committee is chaired by Provost W. A. "Bud" Baeslack and includes:  Gerry Matisoff, Arts and Sciences; John Lewandowski, Engineering; Suchitra Nelson, Dental Medicine; Michael Scharf, Law; David Clingingsmith, Management; Nathan Berger, Medicine; Diana Morris, Nursing; Sharon Milligan, Applied Social Sciences; Patrick Kennedy, Physical Education and Athletics; and ex-officio members University Marshal Robin Dubin and Deputy Provost Lynn Singer.  Nominations for honorary degrees to be conferred at a future commencement may be submitted throughout the year.  Nominators should bear in mind that the selection committee meets in the fall semester in accord with the schedule described in the Faculty Handbook and recommendations submitted after the announced deadline will be reviewed in the following cycle    

The next invitation to submit Honorary Degree nominations will be fall 2014, and will be coordinated by Lois Langell, the Special Assistant for Appointments, Promotion, and Tenure.    Nominees should not be informed of the nomination.

For full review, please include the information listed below.  Incomplete nominations cannot be considered.  

Nominee Information:

  • Name
  • Nominating letter that explains the basis for the recommendation. 
  • Nominee’s vita or biography
  • Maximum of five letters of support (optional)
  • Other supporting material (optional)

Nominator Information:

  • Name
  • Telephone
  • Email address
  • Affiliation (student, faculty, staff, alumna/us)