case western reserve university


Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology  
MacDonald Women's Hospital  

Life in Cleveland
Dining in Cleveland
Sports and Recreation
University Circle
Cleveland Website Links

WELCOME TO                                                Print as PDF

The Education Division of the
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
The Education Division was created to coordinate and enhance educational programs in the department. In addition to their home base subspecialty divisions, all teaching faculty are members of the education division.

The education committee, a subgroup of the education division, works on educational innovations and advises the leaders of the many educational programs in our department. In our monthly meetings, we receive reports from all major educational programs, coordinate educational projects, look for opportunities for quality improvement, and attend to cross-program needs, such as faculty and resident development as teachers, mentors, and evaluators. Often teaching resources are identified that can be shared between programs, and improvements are made that reach beyond a single course or learner level.

Issues that have been addressed in this forum include:
• Residency innovations
– Protection for educational time
– Feedback about surgical skills
– ALSO (advanced life support in obstetrics) course for new residents
– New intern orientation
– Resident library and other teaching resources

• Student programs
– Logistics of shortening clerkship to 4 weeks
– Changes in didactics
– Development of acting internship
– Expansion of elective program
– Clinical immersions for pre-clinical students

• Faculty programs
– Attributing “credit” for teaching
– Feedback about teaching
– Preparing faculty for promotion

• Departmental website
Membership on the committee:

Director, Education Division,
Chair, promotions and tenure committee
Karen Ashby, M.D.
Clerkship Director
David Burkons, M.D.
Community faculty
Medical Director, Preterm
Nancy Cossler, M.D.
Residency Program Director
Angelina Gangestad, M.D.
Co-director, first year student reproductive biology course
Director, acting internship
George Gorodeski, M.D., Ph.D.
CytoCore-Gorodeski resident research fund
James Liu, M.D.
Department chair,
Director, first year student reproductive biology course
Tia Melton, M.D.
Departmental coordinator for RAMP (rotating apprenticeships in medical practice) clinical experience for first year students,
Departmental grand rounds director
Jay Pinkerton, M.D.
Gyn specialties elective,
Director, Division of General Obstetrics and Gynecology
Vice chair for Academic Affairs
Director, Research Division
George Van Buren, M.D.
Assistant clerkship director
Martin Wieczorek, M.D.
Director, Women’s Health Center
Kristine Zanotti, M.D.
Gynecologic oncology fourth year elective
Nash Moawad, M.D.
Chief resident
Pragna Patel, M.D.
Third year resident
Nicole Giannios, D.O.
Third year resident
Wendy Quirino, M.D.
First year resident
JoAnn Laurent
Residency coordinator
Cynthia Mueller
Undergraduate education coordinator

Marjorie Greenfield, M.D.
Associate Professor
Director of Education

Director's Message

The Education Division was created to allow us to focus better on education and to encourage collaboration in this important endeavor. Every practitioner in the department is a member of the Education Division: faculty physicians and researchers, nurse-midwives, and residents. The Education Committee is comprised of representatives from most of our teaching programs. Since residents function both as teachers and as learners, they are represented on the committee, based on nomination by their peers. Residents and faculty are encouraged to bring issues to the education committee for discussion.