School of Graduate Studies

Nord Hall, 6th Floor
Phone 216-368-4390; Fax 216-368-4250

The School of Graduate Studies (SGS) is the unit through which Case Western Reserve University offers graduate programs in the humanities and social sciences, biological and natural sciences, engineering, and selected disciplines related to professional fields. These programs lead to the degrees of Master of Arts, Master of Fine Arts (theater and dance), Master of Science, Master of Public Health, Master of Engineering and Management, Master of Engineering, Doctor of Musical Arts, and Doctor of Philosophy. Several programs offered jointly with the professional schools and local affiliated institutions lead to dual degrees such as M.A./J.D., M.A./Ph.D., M.A./M.D., M.A./M.S.N, M.S./M.D., M.S.S.A./Ph.D. Ph.D./M.P.H, J.D./M.P.H., M.S.N./M.P.H., M.B.A./M.P.H., M.D./M.P.H., M.P.H,/M.A., and M.D./Ph.D. There are also two combined undergraduate and graduate programs, IGS (Integrated Graduate Studies) and, B.S./M.S., which allows undergraduate students to enter graduate study before they complete their undergraduate programs. The School of Graduate Studies, overseeing university-wide standards of quality in admission and performance, presently awards graduate degrees in seventy basic disciplines with Ph.D. programs and fifteen others in which the highest degree is the M.A., M.F.A., or M.S. Enrollment in the School of Graduate Studies for fall 2008, excluding non-degree registrants, totaled 1939, of which 52% were men, 48% were women, and 31% were international. During the academic year 2007-2008, the school awarded 334 master’s degrees and 204 doctorates.

The Office of Postdoctoral Affairs located within the School of Graduate Studies is responsible for the appointment of postdoctoral scholars and fellows, as well as the development, implementation and monitoring of all university policies applicable to these positions. The Office of Postdoctoral Affairs works closely with the Postdoctoral Researchers Association to provide a liaison between postdoctoral scholars and fellows and the administration and faculty of Case Western Reserve University. Handbooks for both postdoctoral scholars and fellows are available at the SGS and on the website:

Administration of the School

Charles E. Rozek, Ph.D. (Wayne State University)

Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies

Denise M. Douglas, Ph.D. (University of Minnesota)
Associate Dean of Graduate Studies

Faculty Senate Committee on Graduate Studies

General responsibility for overseeing postdoctoral affairs, programs of graduate study and for academic and other general regulations applicable to all graduate students and programs is delegated to the University Faculty Senate Committee on Graduate Studies. Each department, school, or interdisciplinary committee is responsible for its particular graduate programs within the framework of the general regulations. The Committee on Graduate Studies consists of the dean of graduate studies, associate dean of graduate studies, nine faculty members elected by the University Faculty Senate, one appointed postdoc and four graduate students – three elected by the Graduate Student Senate and one appointed from the professional schools.

Graduate Student Senate

Students in the School of Graduate Studies are represented by a Graduate Student Senate, which consists of one student elected from each department that offers graduate programs. The officers of the senate are elected by the graduate student senators, who also select graduate student representatives to the University Faculty Senate and various campus committees.