Case Western Reserve University Tuberculosis Research Unit
  Integrating research to combat the global TB epidemic

TBRU Personnel

Organized by project site

  1. Case Western Reserve University (CWRU)
  2. Aeras Global TB Vaccine Foundation (Aeras)
  3. Colorado State University (CSU)
  4. Infectious Disease Research Institutes (IDRI)
  5. Oregan Health Science Univeristy (OHSU)
  6. St. Louis University (SLU)
  7. Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute (STPHI)
  8. TASK Applied Science (TASK)
  9. Tropical Disease Foundation (TDF)
  10. Uganda-CWRU Research Collaboration (UCRC)
  11. Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo (UFES)
  12. University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS)
  13. University of Cape Town (UCT)
  14. University of Florida (UF)
  15. University of Medicine and Denistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ) (previously known as the Public Health Research Institute)
  16. University of Washington (UW)

Case Western Reserve University


W. Henry Boom, M.D., Professor & TBRU Director

John L. Johnson, M.D., Professor

Catherine Stein, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Charles Bark, M.D., Assistant Professor

Jennifer Furin, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Sara Debanne, Ph.D., Professor, Consulting Biostatistician

Zahra Toossi, M.D., Associate Professor

David Canaday, M.D., Assistant Professor

John Foulds, Ph.D., Associate Professor & Consultant

Roxanna Rojas, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Specimen Repository

Maria Rizk, B.S., Repository Manager

Coordinating Center

Denise F. Johnson, M.P.H., Director of Operations & Data Management

Marla Manning, Administrative Director

Theresa Bowerman, Administrative Coordinator

Margaret Wyza, M.S., Regulatory Manager

Keith Chervenak, Immunologist

Matt Zelesnik, B.S., Information Services Manager

Bonnie Thiel, M.S., Analyst

LaShaunda Malone, M.S.P.H., Data/Project Manager

Phalkun Chheng, M.D., M.P.H., Data/Project Manager

Back to Top

Aeras Global TB Vaccine Foundation

Donata Sizemore, Ph.D., Senior Director, Vaccine Assessment

Back to Top

Colorado State University

John Belisle, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Karen Dobos , Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Back to Top

Infectious Disease Research Institute

Steven Reed, Ph.D., President & CEO

Greg Ireton, Ph.D., Scientist

Back to Top

Oregon Health & Science University

David Lewinsohn, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor

Deborah Lewinsohn, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor

Back to Top

St. Louis University

Dan Hoft, M.D., Ph.D., Professor

Back to Top

Swiss Tropical & Public Health Institute

Sebastien Gagneux, Ph.D., Co-Investigator

Back to Top

TASK Applied Science

Andreas Diacon, M.D., Ph.D., Professor and Managing Director

Florian von Groote-Bidlingmaier, Physician

Jeannine Du Bois, Physician

Back to Top

Tropical Disease Foundation

Thelma E. Tupasi, M.D., Professor

Ma. Imelda Quelapio, M.D., Executive Officer

Christine Asonio, R.N., Study Coordinator

Nellie Mangubat, Data Manager

Jonathan Cabardo, Ph.D., Laboratory Manager

Back to Top

Uganda-CWRU Research Collaboration


Roy Mugerwa, M.B.Ch.B., M.Med., Professor-Emeritus

Harriet Mayanja-Kizza, M.B.Ch.B., M.Med, M.S., Professor

Moses Joloba , M.B.Ch.B., Professor, Head, Department of Medical Microbiology

Alphonse Okwera, M.B.Ch.B., M.S.C., Head, National TB Treatment Centre

Ezekiel Mupere, M.B.Ch.B., Ph.D.., Director of Research Coordination

Mary Nsereko, M.B.Ch.B., Director for Clinical Studies

UCRC Coordinating Staff

Justine Nakibuuka, Administrative Manager

Sam Ogwang, Project Microbiologist

Joy Mukisa Oketcho, Project Immunologist

Alice Turyamureba, Regulatory Coordinator

Back to Top

Universidade Federal do Espírito Santo

Reynaldo Dietze, M.D., Ph.D., Professor

Moisés Palaci, Ph.D., Microbiologist

Rodrigo Rodrigues, Ph.D., Immunologist

David Jamil Hadad, M.D., Physician

Ethel Maciel, R.N., M.S., Chief Nurse

Back to Top

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

Kathleen Eisenach, Ph.D., Professor

Back to Top

University of Cape Town, South Africa

Willem Hanekom, M.B.Ch.B., Associate Professor & Lab Director, SATVI

Mark Hatherill, M.B.Ch.B., Senior Clinical Researcher, SATVI

Gregory Hussey, M.B.Ch.B., Professor & Director, SATVI

Ashley Veldsman, Regulatory Manager

Back to Top

University of Florida

Charles Peloquin, Pharm.D., Professor

Back to Top

University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey

( Public Health Research Institute)

Gilla Kaplan, Ph.D., Professor

Dorothy Fallows, Ph.D., Associate Investigator

Ryhor Harbacheuski, Ph.D., Associate Investigator

Back to Top

University of Washington

Thomas Hawn, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Back to Top